The Steve Laube Agencyis committed to providing top quality guidance to authors and speakers. Our years of experience and success brings a unique service to our clients. We focus primarily in the Christian marketplace and have put together an outstanding gallery of authors and speakers whose books continue to make an impact throughout the world.
Authors we represent
How to send your proposal
learn about the publishing industry

Our Service Philosophy


To help the author develop and create the best book possible. Material that has both commercial appeal and long-term value.


To help the author determine the next best step in their writing career. Giving counsel regarding the subtleties of the marketplace as well as the realities of the publishing community.


To help the author secure the best possible contract. One that partners with the best strategic publisher and one that is mutually beneficial for all parties involved.

Recent Posts

020 How to Get Unstuck With Your Writing Career

Here are the show notes for the most recent episode of the Christian Publishing Show.

You can listen to this episode here.


On the Creative Publishing Show, I don’t just like talking with publishing insiders, I also like talking with folks in related industries. It is often in these related industries where some of the more revolutionary insights come from. One such industry is art. Authors and artists face many of the same challenges.

Today we will be talking with Matt Tommey, an artist from Asheville, North Carolina, internationally known Christian speaker & author of 4 books and mentor to hundreds of artists around the world. He is also the host of the Thriving Christian Artist Podcast.

Matt, welcome to the Christian Publishing Show!


  • What does it mean to get stuck as an author?
  • What are some of the roadblocks we face as creatives?
  • Why are so many authors “starving artists” and what can they do about it?
  • How do authors get unstuck?
  • What does it mean for an author to thrive?
  • How can authors thrive?
  • Let’s change gears and talk marketing, how should authors think about marketing their writing?
  • Where can our listeners find out more about you?


@matttommeymentoring on Instagram

@matttommey on Twitter

Matt Tommy

Thriving Artist Podcast

Thriving Christian Artist Facebook Group

Sponsor: Christian Writers Institute

Course of the Week: Prepare Your Heart to Be a Writer

Writing and publishing are extremely difficult industries to navigate. They will challenge every aspect of your self-esteem and leave you vulnerable to attack on your writer’s heart. Getting lost is way too easy. Being distracted by detours is way too frustrating. Giving up is way too appealing when the journey gets hard.

This course will serve as your guide. It will help you see that when God gives you a task, He doesn’t do so without equipping you, and His equipping goes beyond just skill and talent. It goes to the foundation of who you are in Him, and to the core of what drives you to be obedient to His direction.

In addition, this course will equip you to build a foundation of trust and truth so solid that nothing will shake it—and nothing will derail you from the task God’s given you. It will remind you that quitting isn’t an option unless God releases you. And it will help you find joy in the journey—even when it’s rocky.

Save 10% with coupon code “podcast”

The post 020 How to Get Unstuck With Your Writing Career appeared first on Christian Publishing Show.

Leave a Comment

Even the Best Get Rejected


I’ve written about rejection before and yet it is a topic that continues to fascinate.

Recently Adrienne Crezo did an article on famous authors and their worst rejection letters. I thought you might enjoy reading a couple highlights of that article and some additional stories I have collected over the years.

George Orwell’s Animal Farm was rejected by Alfred Knopf saying it was “impossible to sell animal stories in the U.S.A.”
Read More

Fun Fridays – April 12, 2019

For those among the thousands who were snookered by my April Fool’s Day post last week, imagine if your 4th grade teacher gave you a spelling test like the one in this video. It would have been fun if he had thrown in a real word like floccinaucinihilipilification. The word’s …

Read More

Details Are Great Except When They’re Not

One attribute of good writers is an eye for detail. Whether you’re writing fiction or nonfiction, relating relevant and memorable details can make your writing sing like a soprano at the opera. Like Nero Wolfe’s love for the Phalaenopsis Aphrodite orchid or Wendell Berry’s onomatopoeic depiction of the “good, good, …

Read More